I went to see one of our members who can no longer leave her room. I go regularly and we share prayer and bread and wine. It’s a good visit. Her room overlooks a small garden which is looked after by somebody who is skilled at that stuff.

When I walked in, she said “look out the window”.

There was forsythia, blooming in all its yellow glory. “Isn’t it wonderful” she said. “I knew you would like it.”

In my late teens I was ill and bedbound for a few weeks. By the time I was well enough to go out, all I wanted to see was yellow! Fortunately, the daffodils and the forsythia were in bloom. And equally fortunately, my Beloved Maternal Parent understood my rather incoherent expression of desire, bundled me and all my wrappings in the car and took me to Lauriston Castle, where we saw something like thisDaffodil

 

I don’t know why yellow – but it was what my eyes needed then, and it still lifts my heart now. So, today, I am grateful for yellow – and for the joy it is bringing to an amazing Serene Believer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

