Another poem

I’m not sleeping well at the moment… A poem from Roger McGough sums it up

Catching Up on Sleep
i go to bed early 
to catch up on my sleep
		 but my sleep 
is a slippery customer
it bobs and weaves 
	     and leaves
me exhausted. It 
side steps my clumsy tackles.
with ease. Bed 
raggled I drag 
myself to my knees.

The sheep are countless 
I pretend to snore 
yearn for chloroform 
or a sock on the jaw 
body sweats heart beats 
there is Panic in the Sheets 
until
as dawn slopes up the stairs 
to set me free 
unawares 
sleep catches up on me.
Leave a Reply

