Doors and sardines as the clue to life

Goodness me, I don’t know where this week has gone!

Well, I do, of course; but it does seem rather surprising that it is already Thursday…

It’s not that it has been especially busy – full, but not frantic. in fact, full and yet unhurried. Which has been rather nice. I am not sure what it is I am doing right at the moment, but I rather like it.Much that is going on is just ordinary stuff; I suspect that might be why it feels so nice. There is no particular drama, no crisis, no unexpected demands that I have no idea how to meet. There is stuff to get done, there are things I find easy and things I would rather not have to deal with. But all is within normal parameters.

I have on my door a poster with a quote from Noises Off by Michael Frayn;

“That’s what it’s all about; doors and sardines. Getting on, getting off. Getting the sardines on, getting the sardines off. That’s farce. That’s the theatre. That’s life.”

I love the quote – and I found it and stuck it up when life was particularly demanding. It was a reminder to me to get on with what is in front of me in any one moment, and not to live too much in the past or the future.

Just at the moment, I seem to be doing that. I may just have got the sardines and the doors in the right order. At the moment, I’ll take that! And maybe, just maybe,  life will begin to make sense too….

 

Leave a Reply

