The Second Age of the Student

For various reasons, too long to discourse on in detail here, the “Seven Ages of Man” speech holds a central place in my life-story.

And today, as I started back to work after a four day post-Christmas break – and, and this is the significant bit,  started a new module (for which I willingly signed up, and which looks great, but which is at 9.00am on a Monday morning. 9.00am. On  A. Monday.) this section has been echoing in my head….

Then, the whining schoolboy with his satchel

And shining morning face, creeping like snail

Unwillingly to school.

Well, I have the school bag (well, the bag in which I keep my college pencils, and library ticket), and effective foundation means I make a stab at “shining morning face” – and believe me, I was most “unwilling”.

By which I mean, I felt a distinct lack of energy.

But my class mates are chatty and stimulating, the tutors are deeply encouraging, the curriculum looks fascinating, and, if I don’t lose the place completely, it is going to be alright.

But what made me think that a class at 9.00 am on a Monday was a good idea?

Ah well, only 11 weeks of it. “It” being;

“Premodern Dialogues; Medieval and Early Modern Literatures in Conversation”….

Just what a working preacher wants to face on a Monday morning!

Amn’t I the lucky one? (Clue – yes, I am!!)

Leave a Reply

