Advent and giggles

Tonight, I am going to see a play that is a take on a traditional Christmas entertainment – though, I am assured, not a normal version of it.

It promises to be funny.

I am looking forward to laughing, to have a silly time with Beloved Other, and to light-heartedness.

The world is very dark just now – at a macro-level of news and the sense of disaster and imminent threat. And at a personal level as people I love are ill, are distressed, are scared – and I can do very little.

Advent is a time for hope in the midst of the darkness – and flashes of joy keep the hope alive.

So, I am grateful to be going somewhere where I will laugh this evening; not that it takes away the pain – but it is the reminder that it is not all pain, and that there is a promise to cling to.

Leave a Reply

