To discern or to know…..?

Today I have been listening, together with others, to people exploring their story, as they seek to discern where they might next be called. It was, as it always is, a moving and an encouraging time.

I then opened the email, and met another nettle sting from somebody who is very certain of what should be, and that what should be is not what is, especially in the way I am behaving and in what I and colleagues are offering our community.

Ouch!

The contrast between “seeking together”, and being “told” is very noticeable.

I find myself reflecting on the place and presence of graciousness – and wondering how, when I am certain of something (not a condition that is often met, it has to be said, but it does happen now and then) I can learn to offer my conviction with graciousness and gentleness.

Leave a Reply

