Rediscovering colour.

I don’t like the dark driech days of winter and find that, without consciously intending it, I end up wearing black and grey a lot, with the odd dash of purple when I am feeling particularly cheerful.

But yesterday I seem to move from one season to another without noticing. I felt very strongly inclined to wear a red sweatshirt that I haven’t worn for several months, and it felt very good.

Then I went shopping. Generous Friends’ Dancing Daughter is expecting her first child in a few weeks, and I want to knit something for the baby (as indeed, I knitted something for Dancing Daughter – old habits are strong). I have a lovely pattern, and went to choose the wool.

This is what I have knitted so far2015-02-13 19.55.03

The colours are fantastic; I love them.

Spring must be on the way.

I must go and review my wardrobe. I know I have some stuff that is not black or grey…

I am intrigued at the change – and at not noticing it until it was upon me. What else am I not seeing?

One thought on “Rediscovering colour.

  1. That’s what I call knitting – and the random colours make whatever you knit unique – a bit like when God “knit me together in my mother’s womb”…..Oh, I feel a children’s talk coming on about the imago dei and our specialness 🙂

Leave a Reply

