Tidy!

Creative Colleague came into my study today and stopped.

“What’s different? Oh, it’s tidy!”

Well, that made me feel good 🙂 Actually, it did. I am loving the fact that, at the moment, my study does not have all sorts of stuff lying on the floor which doesn’t belong there. I have acquired new shelves and have put quite a lot of stuff in boxes (nice, colourful ones) on the high shelves that I can’t easily reach, and books that I use on the lower ones. I have reorganised (ish) my books, so that things that had got shoved in because there was no space in the “proper” section as I bought new ones are now in coherent collections.

And I have thrown out a LOT of paper.

So, all in all, there is a good deal more space, and a lot less “noise” in the atmosphere of the room.

And I notice the difference in how it feels when I walk in in the morning. It is not finished yet; the pinboards are still propped against the wall, and there are a couple of (not pretty and colourful) boxes of stuff to find new homes for. And I need a new chair! (If anybody can suggest a comfortable reading chair, I’m interested.) But it has a welcoming feel now; there is space to be. There is space to breathe. There is space to be quiet.

I am wondering two things as a result.

Can I keep it up? (Past experience says probably not!)

Remembering my Lenten experiments of decluttering and the impact on    my inner landscape, what other stuff do I need to pack away, even throw out to have the same sense of space and welcome, quietness and being within.

I’m working on this.

Thank you for keeping me company.

 

Leave a Reply

