Tears of joy!

Today, the synod of the Church of England has voted to accept women as bishops.

I’m a good Baptist; I don’t believe in the theology of episcopacy.

But, I am also crying for joy for my Anglican sisters and brothers. Which surprised me, I must say, I knew that if the vote was  yes, I would be happy. I didn’t realise quite how it would feel.

And if it feels like that to me, I can only begin to imagine what it feels like for people – on both sides – for whom episcopacy is central to the nature of the church.

I am grateful for the spirit of today’s debate. I am delighted at the result. And I am ever grateful to those women who, before me, made a path for women in my community to serve fully.

And I wore a purple shirt today deliberately! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Tears of joy!

  1. I, too, was overjoyed when I heard today’s news. This morning I heard some comments from Joe public today and so many young people, who have grown up with equal rights, could not understand why there were no women bishops already. Perhaps now they will be more ready to listen to what the church has to say and I no longer need to make excuses for a church I don’t belong to but want to be relevant.

Leave a Reply

