Just a bit nervous

Tomorrow is a big day for me. Tomorrow, I am going, at her invitation, to meet Online Friend for the afternoon. We have met before once briefly to discuss an issue of mutual concern, once in a large group, and we have spoken on the phone, and we have exchanged a lot of online communication.

But tomorrow, I am going to take the train, and be met at the station, and spend time with her. I am looking forward to it very much. But I am also nervous.

Not, let me hasten to say, a fear that she might turn out to be an axe-murderer. Just- will it be ok?

I know it will be. Our online communication assures me she is a lovely person, with interesting views and a wonderful sense of humour. I know we have a lot in common. I know it will be ok.

You’d think by now I’d have a clue about making friends. Turns out, growing up doesn’t make it any easier.

So I wonder – is it going to be ok?

 

Leave a Reply

