I remember the first time…..

Delightful House Guest came home the other day absolutely shattered, She had just been to the theatre. She had seen King Lear.

For the first time.

And she hadn’t ever read it either.

I am so jealous.

She is watching Jeeves and Wooster for the first time too.

Again, jealousy!

I can remember the first reading of Jeeves and Wooster, and laughing aloud. By the time I saw Lear for the first time, I had already read it and written about it, and generally knew it as a text pretty well. I can’t imagine watching it unfold on the stage without knowing what is coming next….

All sorts of things occur to me as I think about this, not the least just how many firsts slip passed unnoticed until I see somebody else enjoying them.

Don’t get me wrong; I love that I know Lear, and delight in Jeeves and Wooster. But to come across them for the first time….. ah well. There are other things out there I have not yet experienced, and so many more delights and firsts to encounter. That’s what makes each day exciting!

 

 

Leave a Reply

